IRDR Science Committee Chair Update

ICSU, ISSC and UNISDR, the three co-sponsors of IRDR programme, have approved the nomination of Dr David Johnston as the new Chair of the IRDR Science Committee. Dr Johnston is a Senior Scientist at GNS Science (New Zealand’s Geological Survey) and Director of the Joint Centre for Disaster Research in the School of Psychology at Massey University, Wellington, New Zealand. He has served on the IRDR Science Committee since 2008. His full bio can be found on the Science Committee page.

The outgoing Chair, Dr Sálvano Briceño, is stepping down for personal reasons. IRDR is grateful for the significant contributions Dr Briceño has made and is happy to announce that he will continue to serve as one of the three Vice-Chairs of the IRDR Science Committee.

This change will be effective January 1, 2013.