4th International Symposium on solar variability and climate

Announcing the Fourth International Symposium of the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA-IV) titled: “Influence of short and long term solar variability on climate” in Hurghada, Egypt, from 20 to 24 March 2016. The aim of the Fourth Symposium is to generate and maintain momentum by bringing together communities interested in solar-terrestrial relations and space weather (including observing and modeling), both from solar and atmospheric theme. The Symposium hopes to cross fertilize new research on the sun and its influence on climate. More than 100 participants coming from more than 30 countries are expected.

Solar Cycle 24 provided the quietest sun seen in almost a century and raised questions about our understanding of the sun’s variability, particularly in the ultraviolet part of the spectrum. A dedicated study of the impacts of the diverse aspects of the solar influence on climate, from minimum to the unusual double peak maximum of Solar Cycle 25, will be thoroughly discussed in this symposium. Presented papers (oral and posters) will be reviewed and published by in the Elsevier Journal of Advanced Research (JAR).

The agenda includes oral (invited and contributed) and poster presentations in six sessions:

– Solar and Space missions for Space Weather and solar variability observations.

– Solar activity/variability effects on the lower, middle and upper atmosphere.

– Modeling climate consequences of solar activity influence and suggested mechanisms.

– Modeling and predicting large flares, super flares, CMEs and other extreme events.

– Solar energetic particles and Solar wind influence on the Earth’s inner magnetosphere and atmosphere.

– Societal impact of solar variability, Education and Public Outreach

Conference Dates:
01 January    2016 – Deadline for Abstract Submission
30 January    2016 – Notification to Authors
30 February  2016 – Early Registration Deadline
20-24 March 2016 – Desk Registration Open
Further details on abstract submission, registration, and accommodation are or will be available soon here.

Scientific Organizing Committee:
Christine Amory-Mazaudier (France) -Volker Bothmer (Germany) -Dirk Callebaut (Belgium) – Luc Damé (France, Co-chair) – Joseph M. Davila (USA) -Thierrry Dudok de Wit (France) – Katya Georgieva (Bulgaria) – Nat Gopalswamy (USA) – Ahmed A. Hady (Egypt, Co-chair) -Christine Jones (USA) – Alexander Kosovichev (USA) – Serge Koutchmy (France) –  Vladimir Obridko (Russia) – Young-Deuk Park (Korea) – Mosalam Shaltout (Egypt) – Kazunari Shibata (Japan) – Atif Shreef (Egypt) – Igor Veselovsky (Russia) – Jingxiu Wang (China) – David Webb (USA).